Skip to main content

Iowa State University. Graduate College records

 Record Group — Multiple Containers
Identifier: RS 6/3

Scope and Content

The collection includes materials related to the Graduate College. Records include brochures, pre-classification notices, memoranda to faculty, handbooks, oral examination schedules, thesis manuals, publications, committee reports, subject files, biographical files, graduate faculty minutes, graduate committees, enrollment and classification statistics, Rockefeller Foundation fluid research records, Iowa State Journal of Research Records, and graduate curriculum committee records.


  • 1897-2013


Language of Materials


Access Restrictions

Open for research.

Use/Re-use Restrictions

Consult Special Collections and University Archives


The Graduate College is responsible for the quality of graduate education, for administering students' graduate programs by means of individual advisory committees and for promoting research support from various governmental, industrial and private agencies. The graduate faculty consists of the President, the Dean of the Graduate College, the Provost, the deans of the Colleges, the dean of Library Services, the dean of Admissions and Records, heads of the departments offering graduate work and members of the faculty who are elected to membership in recognition of accomplishments in their respective disciplines. Graduate study was offered almost as soon as the University was founded, and the first graduate degree was conferred in 1877. In 1913, a distinct graduate faculty was organized and an executive graduate committee was appointed. In 1915, the graduate faculty held its first meeting and in 1916 it granted the first Ph.D. In 1971, the Dean of the Graduate College, J. Boyd Page, also assumed the title of Vice President for Research. The offices finally split in 2004 when the Dean of the Graduate College was given the title of Associate Provost for Academic Programs.


Raymond A. Pearson	(1913-1919)

		Robert E. Buchanan	(1919-1948)

		R.M. Hixon		(1948-1960)

		J. Boyd Page		(1960-1970)

		Kenneth J. Frey		(1970-1971)	Interim

		Daniel Zaffarano	(1971-1988)

		Patricia B. Swan	(1989-1991)

		John M. Dobson	(1991-1992)	Interim

		Patricia B. Swan	(1992-1999)

		James Bloedel		(2000-2004)

		David Holger		(2004-2017)

		Bill Graves		(2017- )


15.12 Linear Feet (31 document boxes and 10 half-document boxes)

Items in related collections

RS 6/3/11. Robert Earle Buchanan papers, 1901-1999, undated RS 6/3/12. Ralph M. Hixon papers, 1917-1978, undated RS 6/3/51. George G. Karas papers, 1960-1995

RS 6/3. Iowa State University. Graduate College records, 1897-2013
March 26, 2019
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections and University Archives Repository

403 Parks Library
701 Morrill Road
Iowa State University
Ames Iowa 50011-2102 United States
(515) 294-6672