Skip to main content

Newspaper Farm Editors of America records

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS-0633

Scope and Content

This collection (1979-1983) contains correspondence and newsletters of the organization.


  • 1979-1983


Language of Materials


Access Restrictions

Open for research.

Use/Re-use Restrictions

Consult Special Collections and University Archives


The Newspaper Farm Editors of America was formed in 1952 to promote the highest ideals of journalism and agricultural coverage. The name was first changed to the National Association of Agricultural Journalists and then in 2000, was changed again to reflect the contributions of Canadian members and is now known as the North American Agricultural Journalists (NAAJ).

Members are journalists in North America who report or edit agricultural news for newspapers, magazines, wires and syndicated services and are independent of agricultural organizations and businesses.

The organization holds its annual meeting in Washington D.C. in April where winners of its writing contest are announced. Also presented are four memorial awards: the J.S. Russell Award; Glenn Cunningham Agricultural Journalist of the Year Award; Bill Zipf President's Award; and, The Audrey Mackiewicz Special Award. The organization also holds a fall meeting, with the location rotating across the country

The objectives of the organization are to promote the professional status of journalists with interest in agriculture, to encourage high standards of professional competence, to emphasize the importance of agricultural news in complete news coverage of the American scene and to provide a meeting place for fellowship and professional improvement.

Regional groups of NAAJ include:

* Northeast - Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware. Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan, Washington, D.C.

* Southeast - Florida, Georgia, Alabama, South Carolina, North Carolina, West Virginia, Tennessee, Kentucky, Mississippi.

* Midwest - Minnesota, Indiana, Wisconsin, Illinois, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa, Missouri

* Southwest - Arkansas, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Louisiana, Colorado

* West - Alaska, Hawaii, Washington, Oregon. California, Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Utah. Wyoming

* Canada - all provinces in Canada


0.21 Linear Feet (1 half-document box)

Processing Information

Released on 2018-11-01.

MS-0633. Newspaper Farm Editors of America records, 1979-1983
December 12, 2018
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections and University Archives Repository

403 Parks Library
701 Morrill Road
Iowa State University
Ames Iowa 50011-2102 United States
(515) 294-6672