Skip to main content

AOAC International. Midwest Section records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: MS-0466

Scope and Content

The collection (1977-1995, undated) contains annual meeting materials held by the section (correspondence, audiotapes, photographs, programs, and abstracts), executive committee materials (agendas, minutes), policies, audiocassettes, and information dealing with the formation and incorporation of the section (constitution, operations manual, an interview transcript, correspondence). There are annual meeting materials from the very first meeting in 1982, and almost every year thereafter. Proceedings for the 1982 and 1983 meetings can also be found in both the Special and General Collections of Parks Library (call numbers QD75.2 A77x 1982 and QD75.2 A77x 1983). The titles of the audiocassettes found in the finding aid are from the descriptions written on the audiocassettes. They appear to be recordings of presentations, annual meeting sessions, and workshops.


  • 1977-1995, undated

Language of Materials


Access Restrictions

Open for research.

Use/Re-use Restrictions

Consult Special Collections and University Archives


AOAC International is an organization of government and industrial analytical scientists founded in 1884 with the purpose of developing, testing, and sponsoring improved methods of analyzing fertilizers, foods, feeds, pesticides, drugs, cosmetics, and other products related to agriculture and public health. The original name of AOAC International was the Association of Official Agricultural Chemists (AOAC).

AOAC International's Board of Directors approved the formation of regional sections in the fall of 1980. The Midwest Regional Section of AOAC International elected its first officers and adopted a constitution in 1982. H. M. Stahr of Iowa State University was the section's first president. The section's first meeting (June of 1982) was held in Ames, Iowa. About 130 people attended this first meeting. In the early 1990s, the Midwest Regional Section dropped the term regional from its name and became the Midwest Section. The Midwest Section includes the states of Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.


1.68 Linear Feet (3 document boxes and 1 card box)


The collection is organized Chronologically, with documents related to the history and incorporation of the association at the front.

Items in related collections

MS-0477. AOAC International records, 1891-2005 MS-0448. AOAC International. Northeast Section records, 1981-1990, undated

Processing Information

Released on 2018-11-01.

MS-0466. AOAC International. Midwest Section records, 1977-1995, undated
January 11, 2019
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections and University Archives Repository

403 Parks Library
701 Morrill Road
Iowa State University
Ames Iowa 50011-2102 United States
(515) 294-6672