Skip to main content

Iowa State University. Government of the Student Body records

 Record Group — Multiple Containers
Identifier: RS 22/1

Scope and Content

This collection consists of materials related to the Government of the Student Body. Records include news clippings, administrative records, organization recognition and control commission records, supreme court files, and Catt Hall Review committee records.


  • undated

Language of Materials


Access Restrictions

Open for research.

Use/Re-use Restrictions

Consult Special Collections and University Archives


The Government of the Student Body (GSB) is the governing student organization representing all students at Iowa State University. GSB works with other student organizations, administration, Ames community, state legislature, and the Board of Regents to accomplish initiatives and set policies. The student government, founded in 1904, was originally named the Cardinal Guild. This name was changed in 1962 to the Government of the Student Body.

GSB is composed of an executive, legislative, and judicial branch. The executive branch includes the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Chief of Staff, Finance Director, and other cabinet positions appointed by the President. This branch serves as liaison between students and administrators, plans events, handles diversity issues, creates projects, and lobbies the Iowa legislature. The GSB legislative branch consists of 35 senators who represent either a college or residence area. The senators act as the voice of students and attend weekly meetings to consider and debate legislation. One of the Senate’s most powerful committees is the Finance Committee which determines how money from student fees is spent. The judicial branch includes a chief justice and eight associate justices. The court determines the constitutionality of executive and senate decisions and rules on cases between students and student groups.

The President, Vice President, and senators are elected every spring by students. Committee appointments are year round and handled by the President. Activities of GSB include funding student organizations, student groups, and community organizations, and providing specific services to students through offices on campus. Examples of funding GSB provides for campus services include recreation services, the Iowa State Center, CyRide, student legal services, the Memorial Union, Iowa State Daily subscriptions, sports club council, Department of Public Safety help van and escort service, University committees, and intercollegiate athletics.

Presidents and Vice Presidents that have served GSB since 1958 are as follows:

Years - President, Vice President

1958-1959 - Tom Phelps, Gene Havens

1959-1960 - Jim Balloun, John Saathoff

1960-1961 - Bill Dalgetty, Dave Voltmer

1961-1962 - Richard Gimer, Daniel Loper

1962-1963 - Morris Mikkelsen, Michael Montgomery

1963 - Donald Meyer *, Donald Christensen

1963-1964 - Donald Christensen, Clayton Shank

1964 - Doug Whitney, Richard Hamlin *

1964-1965 - Doug Whitney, Gene McClellan

1965-1966 - Richard Thoreson, David Duncan

1966-1967 - 	Jerry Bierbaum, Neil Stadlman

1967 - 	Donald R. Smith *, Mary Lou Lifka

1967-1968 - 	Mary Lou Lifka, Skip Spensley

1968-1969 - 	Dennis Forsyth, Bill Gilbert

1969-1970 - 	Dave Henry, Tom Fortson

1970-1971 - 	Jerald Schnoor, Jerry Parkin

1971-1972 - 	Steve Zumbach, Don Nickerson

1972-1973 - 	Phil Harris, W. Dan Koestner

1973-1974 - 	Randy Kehrli, Brian Gardner

1974 - 	Henry Miles, Jamie Constantine +

1974-1975 - 	Jamie Constantine, Jill Wagner

1975-1976 - 	Jill Wagner, Don Morris

1976-1977 - 	Clarke Bell, Mary Beth Howe

1977-1978 - 	Mary Beth Howe, Dave Fisher

1978-1979 - 	Fred Schuster, Mike Crabb

1979 - 	Elisabeth Buck, Paul Miller *

1979-1980 - Elisabeth Buck, Roger Peterson

1980-1981 - 	Greg Douglas, Tom Jackson

1981-1982 - 	Tom Jackson, T. J. Hentges

1982 - 	Anthony Williams *, Hallie Still

1982-1983 - 	Hallie Still, Terry Rickers

1983-1984 - 	Elaine (Clark) Bales-Henry, Michael Keller

1984-1985 - 	Michael Reilly, Merry Mathes

1985-1986 - 	J. Keith Stepp, John Reiher

1986-1987 - 	Brian Kennedy, Amy Anderson

1987-1988 - 	Julianne Marley, Dan Holub

1988-1989 - 	Douglas Martin, Todd Kruse

1989-1990 - 	Paul Thibodeaux, Greg Brock *

1990 - 	Paul Thibodeaux, Crystal Winey

1990-1991 - 	Molly Olinger, Steven Noth

1991-1992 - 	Michael Noble, Mark Foley *

1992 - 	Michael Noble, Paul Jansen (Acting Vice-President)

1992-1993 - 	Eric Hamilton, Sean Smith

1993-1994 - 	Denis Klein, Heather Hobson

1994-1995 - 	Margaret Pitiris, David Cmelik

1995-1996 - 	Daniel Mangan, Jennifer Sulentic

1996-1997 - 	Adam Gold, Carolyn Jones

1997-1998 - 	Rob Wiese, Matt McLaren

1998-1999 - 	Bryan Burkhardt, Jamal White

1999-2000 - 	Matt Craft, Garrett Toay

2000-2001 - 	Ben Golding, Lisa Dlouhy

2001-2002 - 	Andy Tofilon, Charlie Johnson

2002-2003 - 	T. J. Schneider, Joe Darr

2003-2004 - 	Mike Banasiak, Ben Albright

2004-2005 - 	Sophia Magill, William Rock

2005-2006 - 	Angela Groh, Chris Deal

2006-2007 - 	Emily Jensen, Sara Faber

2007-2008 - 	Brian Phillips, Ian Guffy

2008-2009 - 	Daniel Fischer, Maggie Luttrell

2009-2010 - 	Jon Turk, Chandra Peterson

2010-2011 - 	Luke Roling, Nate Dobbels

2011-2012 - 	Dakota Hoben, Jared Knight

2012-2013 - 	Jared Knight, Katie Brown

2013-2014 - 	Spencer Hughes, Hillary Kletscher

2014-2015 - Hillary Kletscher, Mike Hoefer

2015-2016 - 	Daniel Breitbarth, Megan Sweere

2016-2017 - 	Cole Staudt, Cody West

2017-2018 - 	Cody West, Cody Smith

2018-2019 - 	Julian Neely, Juan Bibiloni

* - did not complete his or her term.

# - term was shortened due to a change in date for elections.


1 collection

Items in related collections

RS 22/1/5. Iowa State University. Graduate and Professional Student Senate records, 1965-2009, undated RS 22/1/1. Iowa State College. Cardinal Guild records, 1904-1971, undated

Processing Information

Released on 2019-04-12.

RS 22/1. Iowa State University. Government of the Student Body records
April 12, 2019
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections and University Archives Repository

403 Parks Library
701 Morrill Road
Iowa State University
Ames Iowa 50011-2102 United States
(515) 294-6672